Archive for July 1st, 2008

h1

Marjory Razor Blade

July 1, 2008

When my brother was very small my Dad used to scare him using this tune. The album version is much more abrasive and has power to scare children until they’re marked forever.

My brother’s account of what happened:

When I was around 10 years old, I walked into the living room where a truly terrifying object was sitting. My brother had recently decided that he would master the art of ventriloquism and had bought a second hand doll. I suffered from a long-standing fear of dolls in general and ventriloquist ones particularly put the heebeejeebees up me. His name was Ginger George and he was hideous. One of his eyes had popped out once and my brother had hastily refitted it upside down, resulting in an even more grotesque look. I walked up to George in order to try to overcome my fear (it’s just a stupid doll). When I was about two feet away from him and was reaching out to prod him, there was a horrific screeching that filled the room as a record that my Dad was taping kicked in. It was a song by Kevin Coyne and begins with a croaky high pitched scream of the words “Marjory Razor Blade!”, the name of the song. If anyone can find a sample of this on the web and imagine me standing alone in a room confronting my deepest fears, then you will appreciate the full terrying effect that this moment has had on me.

The rest of the album is far more pleasant, but never play the opening song to a small child.